Will it all come together one day?

Mt Olympus Acrylic on Birch Panel - Copy (800x524).jpg

Mount Olympus (4″ x 6″ Acrylic on Birch Panel)

Some days I wonder if all my art (and life!) experimentation will coalesce into something cohesive. I wonder if I will say my primary job is “artist” and especially “hiking and travelling artist” and whether I would crack or thrive. I hope things I make will bring value to people’s lives.

Seth Godin talks about “the dip” – pushing through the long space of mediocrity before mastery. I feel squarely in the middle of it.

(And I feel very grateful for everyone who has supported me emotionally and financially on the path so far!)

When I look at paintings I love, I start asking myself what is it that strikes me? I love Eric Merrell’s creative use of colour, and the strong graphic shapes of Billy Schenck. I love the light-filled sketches James Gurney and Nathan Fowkes and Mike Hernandez make on location, and I’m in awe of the subtle hue shifts that Clyde Aspevig pulls off.

I want to paint like all of them. And one day I might figure out how to paint like me.

When I look at my own work, I can start to see little glimmers of a direction forming. I think things are coming together. It’s slow, making artistic progress in the margins of the day job, but I think it is happening.

Carolyn Lord, in a fantastic podcast, said “To be an artist is to be on a spiritual path because you don’t see the evidence – but you have to have the faith that you are putting things forward and it’s going to come together”. I love that.

And I guess that’s the great mystery that keeps us moving forward – we want to see if all of our dreams will come true by the time we approach the door to the other side.

Sophie

2 thoughts on “Will it all come together one day?

  1. Glad you liked it and the other artists’ work! It’s neat to look at our influences in aggregate, isn’t it? Although it can be dangerous – I listened to a podcast where an art teacher said “you look at these artists you admire, and skim the cream of their work, and collect it all in a folder – remember they have done not-so-good work too, and if I asked this whole class to submit their best piece, we’d have a pretty amazing exhibit too”. Words to remember! 🙂

Leave a comment