Printmaker Profile: Dave Lefner

Dave Lefner is a linocut printmaker from Los Angeles. He has been creating prints for over 20 years and has built up a stunning body of work.

You can find his website here, and you can watch a wonderful video here where he takes you on a tour of his studio and shows you his creative process, step by step.

DaveLefner-Palace

Dave Lefner’s Reduction Linocut “The Palace”

My favourite aspect of his prints is how well he captures the strong California light. I love California and its artists (William Rice, Edgar Payne and Frances Gearhart come to mind); if I were American I would move there in a heartbeat. Dave’s prints spark that longing and cool air and lonesomeness – a feeling akin to having stayed out in the sun a little too long.

DaveLefner-TBird

Dave Lefner’s Reduction Linocut “T-bird”

Dave was gracious enough to fill out my relief printmaker survey describing the elements he uses to create these beautiful works!

DaveLefnerTable

A huge thank-you to Dave for allowing me to share his process.

***********************************************************************

A note about printmaker profiles:

As a relative beginner to the art of linocut printmaking, I’m starting to understand just how much the technical aspects affect the final print. One can choose to print on tissue-thin or thick as cardstock paper. There are many brands of ink available. Some print on dry paper, others mist their paper with water first. Some use a press, others burnish the back of each print by hand while it sits on the inked block.

As artists, we get to experiment! Yet, some combinations work better than others, and I’d like to know what those are. So I’ve put together a (15 minute) survey, asking printmakers to pick one print and describe the technical details of its creation.

My goal is 100 responses! Then I will summarize the results here for you.

Are you a linocut printmaker? Take the survey here!

Leave a comment